JEAN BOGGIO

JEAN BOGGIO

The little prince of design


Jean Boggio was a trained jewellery maker and goldsmith when he opened his workshop in Lyon in 1984 and produced his first pieces. His “Palace” rings and “Jungle” boxes earned him a loyal following among collectors.


A multi-faceted, multi-skilled designer and an artist-cum-craftsman with a command of almost all the techniques required to produce his creations, he very quickly developed a dream world populated by turns by a varied bestiary or fairies and elves, troubadours and acrobats, earning him the nickname “The Little Prince of interior decor”. Jean Boggio defines himself as “a dream-maker and storyteller”.


Jean Boggio is much in demand with major French manufacturers. He can turn his hand to furniture design, glassmaking or ceramics. A consummate master of colour, Jean Boggio produces baroque, fantastical pieces drawn straight from tales and legends - this is where the dream element can be found.



Galerie HSP

JEAN BOGGIO

JEAN BOGGIO

Le petit prince 
de la décoration


C’est avec une formation de joailler-orfèvre que Jean Boggio ouvre son atelier à Lyon, en 1984 et signe ses premières pièces : ses bagues « Palais » et ses boîtes « Jungle » lui attachent une clientèle fidèle de collectionneurs.


Créateur polymorphe et touche-à-tout, artiste-artisan maîtrisant la technique de la plupart des objets qu’il crée, Jean Boggio développe très vite un univers onirique peuplé tantôt d’un riche bestiaire, tantôt de fées et farfadets, de troubadours ou acrobates, qui lui vaut le surnom de Petit Prince de la décoration. Car Jean Boggio se définit avant tout comme « un créateur de rêves, un conteur d’histoires ».


De grandes manufactures françaises le sollicitent. Jean Boggio devient tour à tour créateur de mobilier, verrier ou céramiste. Passé maître dans l’art de manier les couleurs, Jean Boggio crée des pièces baroques et fantaisistes, comme sorties des contes et légendes : là est la part du rêve…



Galerie HSP